Skip to content

Web Design By The Back Door

February 15, 2010

When is a website not a website? When it only looks like a website. I have a seriously luddite understanding of the principles of web design, so I didn’t expect to exercise my modest know-how on this project. Still, as the limitations of Tumblr and WordPress became apparent, it seemed the project would require something more. So, I made a website. That is, I created the layout for a website using In Design. I applied the hand-made theme we had discussed as a group by using paper and print textures, and used an 8-column grid to create the layout. Mapping out the site with a navigation diagram was a real challenge. I arrived at the version below only after half a notebook of aborted scribbles. Like a Gaudi apartment block, there’s not a straight line in sight: this version uses only circles (or portions of).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

